WOAD
by Alastair White

Performance - August 21, 2021

In the medieval Scottish Borders, a young boy is bewitched - into the form of an ape, an adder, a speck of dust. But is it his shape that twists and churns, or that of the world around him? A Fashion-Opera about metamorphosis and parallel worlds -  from the team behind the award-nominated WEAR (“spellbinding” - Boulezian) and ROBE (“striking and evocative” - Planet Hugill). Featuring the high fashion of Renli Su and award-winning soprano Kelly Poukens, Alastair White’s WOAD adapts the Scots myth of Tam Lin to ask: in a multiverse of endless possibility, what becomes of our longing, our regret?

Kelly Poukens - Soprano

Kelly Poukens is an international artist whose recent highlights include Regan in King Lear (Holland Opera) and solo recitals at the Henry Le Boeuf hall. www.kellypoukens.com

Suzy Vanderheiden - Saxophone

Saxophonist Suzy Vanderheiden’s distinguished career sees her tour worldwide, currently as a soloist with her saxophone quartet and in the Royal Harmonie Tessenderlo.

Alastair White - Performer

Shortlisted for several Scottish art awards, composer-librettist Alastair White’s work is characterised by a lyrical complexity described as “beautiful” (730 Review), “virtuosic” (Winnipeg Free Press), “passionate” (Gramophone) and "deftly manic" (American Record Guide). www.alastairwhite.org

Gemma A. Williams - Performer

Fashion curator Gemma A. Williams is author of Fashion China (Thames & Hudson).

Renli Su design.jpg
Renli Su - Fashion Design

Renli Su is a globally-recognised fashion designer whose collections are characterised by her sense of nostalgia: where a love for old craftsman’s techniques is balanced with innovative, modern methods. www.renlisu.com

Fashion Design by Renli Su

Words and Music by Alastair White

Produced by UU Studios

WOAD
par Alastair White

Représentation - 21 août, 2021

Au Moyen Âge, à la frontière écossaise, un jeune garçon est ensorcelé - sous la forme d'un singe, d'une vipère, d'un grain de poussière. Mais est-ce sa forme qui se tord et se déforme, ou celle du monde qui l'entoure ? Un opéra « fashion » sur la métamorphose et les mondes parallèles - par l'équipe derrière les spectacles nominés WEAR ("envoûtant" - Boulezien) et ROBE ("frappant et évocateur" - Planète Hugill). Mettant en lumière la haute couture de Renli Su et la soprano primée Kelly Poukens, WOAD d'Alastair White adapte le mythe écossais de Tam Lin pour poser la question : dans un « multivers » de possibilités infinies, que devient notre désir, notre regret ?

Kelly Poukens - Soprano

Kelly Poukens est une artiste internationale qui a récemment joué Regan dans King Lear (Holland Opera) ainsi que des récitals en solo à la salle Henry Le Boeuf. www.kellypoukens.com

Suzy Vanderheiden - Saxophone

La saxophoniste Suzy Vanderheiden mène une brillante carrière qui l'amène à faire des tournées dans le monde entier, actuellement en tant que soliste avec son quatuor de saxophones et au sein de la Royal Harmonie Tessenderlo.

Alastair White - Performer

Présélectionnée pour plusieurs prix artistiques écossais, l'œuvre du compositeurlibrettiste Alastair White se caractérise par une complexité lyrique décrite comme "belle" (730 Review), "virtuose" (Winnipeg Free Press), "passionnée" (Gramophone) et "habilement maniaque" (American Record Guide).www.alastairwhite.org

Gemma A. Williams - Interprète

La conservatrice de mode Gemma A. Williams est l'auteur de Fashion China (Thames & Hudson).

Renli Su design.jpg
Renli Su - Styliste

Renli Su est une créatrice de mode mondialement reconnue dont les collections sont caractérisées par son sens de la nostalgie : où l'amour des techniques artisanales anciennes est équilibré par des méthodes innovantes et modernes. www.renlisu.com

Fashion Design - Renli Su

Words and Music - Alastair White

Produit par UU Studios