Alcina by George Frideric Handel
Ensemble OrQuesta

Premiering in July 2019 at the John Mcintosh Arts Centre in Fulham, London, Ensemble OrQuesta's production of Handel's classic Alcina will be performed in September 2021 at Théâtre Basse Passière.

Featuring a dynamic mix of musical talents from Ensemble OrQuesta, the show will feature a Harpsichord, Lute, two Violins and a Cello, to fully capture the magic of Handel's much revered classic.

 

Given a modern adaptation with an underlining theme of sexual harassment in the work place, it follows a minimalistic style, typical of most of Ensemble OrQuesta's productions, and will be conducted by internationally renowned conductor Marcio da Silva. The performers will be from the company's most experienced members, including Helen May in the title role. Casting for the remainder of the show is still to be finalised. 

Performance - 17th and 18th September, 2021

8pm

20 €

Merci de réserver par e-mail (avec paiement sur place) en cas de difficultés avec la réservation en ligne

Photo 8.jpg
Ensemble OrQuesta

www.ensembleorquesta.com

Founded in 2013 by Marcio da Silva, Ensemble OrQuesta bring together artists who are dedicated to performing Baroque music in all its richness and diversity to the highest of standards.

In recent years Ensemble OrQuesta have taken their professional productions to the Grimeborn Festival at the Arcola Theatre and to the Cockpit Theatre. These productions have secured considerable critical acclaim.

Since 2014 Ensemble OrQuesta have organised a dynamic range of Opera Academies. These Academies have given singers from all over the world the opportunity to perform complete roles in fully staged productions with orchestral accompaniment.

The exceptional quality of these academies - as reflected in effusive testimonials from participants - has earned Ensemble OrQuesta an outstanding reputation as an international young artist programme.

Photo 7.jpg
Photo 6.jpg
Marcio da Silva conducting.jpg
Marcio da Silva

www.marciodasilva.com

 

Born in 1983 in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, Marcio da Silva began his music studies at the age of 9 with piano lessons and choral singing. After half a lifetime of international music studies and securing a Bachelor's and Master's degree in different musical disciplines, he has performed in numerous countries around the world, and has won awards for his performances here and overseas. He is an accomplished baritone and countertenor singer, and organised a number of Opera Academies each year, giving singers from across the world the opportunity to study and perform an operatic work at a high artistic level.

Helen May

www.helenmaysoprano.com

 

Helen graduated from the prestigious Preparatory Opera Course at the Royal Academy of Music with an MA with Distinction, having been awarded a DipRAM for an outstanding final recital. Her studies were generously supported by the William Gibbs Trust and the Josephine Baker Trust. Helen previously studied Music at Cardiff University, where she held the David Lloyd Vocal Scholarship and was awarded the Geraint Evans Prize for outstanding recital performance.

 

Opera roles have included: Alcina (Alcina, Handel, Arcola Theatre); Climene, (L’Egisto, Cavalli, HGO); OFFIE nomination Calisto (La Calisto, Cavalli, Cockpit Theatre); Diane (Hippolyte et Aricie, Rameau, Grimeborn Opera Festival); Pamina (Die Zauberflöte, Mozart, Hastings Philharmonic); Nerone (L'incoronazione di Poppea, Monteverdi, Cockpit Theatre); Amastre (Xerse, Cavalli, Grimeborn Opera Festival); Despina (Cosi fan tutte, Mozart, Woodhouse Opera Festival); Galatea (Acis and Galatea, Handel, Ensemble OrQuesta); Giannetta (L’elisir d’amore, Donizetti, Woodhouse Opera); Valletto (L'incoronazione di Poppea, Monteverdi, HGO); Barbarina (Le Nozze di Figaro, Mozart, Ensemble OrQuesta); and First Lady (The Magic Flute, Mozart, London Opera Players). Forthcoming roles include Countess Almaviva (Le Nozze di Figaro, Mozart, Vinehall Theatre, Robertsbridge); cover Jenůfa (Jenůfa, Janáček, Court Theatre, Tring); and Mimi (La Bohème, Hastings Philharmonic Orchestra). Helen is also an experienced oratorio soloist and recitalist.

Helen.jpg
Laura 3.jpg
Laura Fleur

British mezzo soprano Laura Fleur Hocking is studying on the Opera course at the Guildhall School of Music and drama. She previously graduated with a first class honours undergraduate degree and a Master of Performance degree with distinction from the Royal College of Music. She studies with Susan Waters. Laura is a 2019 Leeds Lieder Festival Young Artist and a 2020 Garsington Alvarez Young Artist.  

Laura’s recent concert work has included being the alto ensemble member with Classical Opera and the Mozartist’s concert tour of Così fan tutte, Mendelssohn’s Elijah with the Orchestra Age of Enlightenment at the Royal Festival Hall and Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Stravinsky's Pulcinella with the Guildhall Chamber Orchestra, Mozart’s Requiem, Rossini's Petite Messe Solenelle, Vivaldi's Gloria, Handel's Messiah and Bach cantatas with the London Handel Orchestra and a Mahler song project with Roger Vignoles.

Operatic experience includes Pompea in Jonathan Dove's The Little Green Swallow (Guildhall Opera) Mrs Kneebone in A Dinner Engagement (RCM Opera Studio), the title role in Dido and Aeneas (Hurn Court Opera), Melanto in Il Ritorno D'Ulisse (Suffolk Villages Festival), Nerone in L'Incoronazione di Poppea (The New Renaissance Collective), Amastre in Cavalli's Xerse, Dafne in Caccini's Euridice (Ensemble Orquesta), Zweite Dame in Die Zauberflöte (Broadstone Music Series) and contemporary opera premieres as Angelica in Lara Poe's The Fermi Paradox, and Embryo 3 in Sophie Sparkes' Our Perfect Child (RCM/Tête-à-tête). In Summer 2020 she was cast to cover Second Nymph in Garsington Opera's production of Rusalka.

Kathleen Nic Dhiarmada

Kathleen is an Irish soprano studying with Kate Paterson, Raymond Connell and Ingrid Surgenor. 

Recently graduating with a distinction in Vocal Studies from the Royal Academy of Music, Kathleen is now continuing her studies at Royal Academy Opera with the generous support of the Carr-Gregory Trust. 

Kathleen has performed lead roles in Britten’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Helena, Royal Academy Opera 2020), Puccini’s La bohème (Musetta, Hampstead Garden Opera, 2019) and Monteverdi’s  L’incoronazione di Poppea (Poppea, Ensemble OrQuesta, 2019). She has also performed the soprano solo In Fauré’s Requiem (Dun Laoighre Choral Society) Haydn’s Creation (Armagh City Choir) and the soprano 1 solo in Mozart’s C Minor Mass (English Baroque Choir). Kathleen also recently covered the role of Fiordiligi in Royal Academy Opera’s production of Così fan tutte.

Kathleen looks forward to playing Lauretta in Royal Academy Opera’s production of Puccini’s Gianni Schicci later this year.

54labw.jpg
Maya.jpg
Maya Colwell

British-Belgian mezzo-soprano Maya Colwell has been praised in Opera for performances that “delight with her vivacity”. She holds a First Class BA in Music from the University of Bristol and currently studies at the Royal Academy of Music with Alexander Ashworth and Matthew Fletcher. She has been lucky enough to receive the continued mentorship and support of Angela Hickey since her time at Bristol. 

In September 2019, Maya premiered the title role of Dorian Gray in the new opera by Oliver Bowes to great acclaim, in a production at the historic Bedford in Balham. This past spring, she also made her debut as a soloist with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Hilary Davan-Wetton at Cadogan Hall.

Maya has performed with numerous companies, both in the UK and internationally, and has been lucky enough to work and study with Kamal Khan, Gidon Saks, Lorraine DiSimone and Pamela Armstrong, among others.

Alongside her work as a singer, Maya also works as the creative director of Love Opera, coordinating and devising innovative productions of operatic treasures. Maya is also a multi-linguist, and uses her fluency in French, Italian, English and German to further her work as a keen translator and librettist.

Kieran White

British tenor Kieran White continues to enjoy success in the UK and is also establishing himself as a sought after artist in mainland Europe.  Operatic engagements include Damon ACIS & GALATEA for Dorset Opera, Arnalta L’INCORONAZIONE DI POPPEA at the Cockpit Theatre, the title-role L'EGISTO for Hampstead Garden Opera, Hippolyte HIPPOLYTE ET ARICIE at the Grimeborn Festival, Acis ACIS AND GALATEA for Ensemble OrQuesta, Ruggiero in Caccini LA LIBERAZIONE DI RUGGIERO and Pastore in Gagliano’s LA DAFNE for the Brighton Early Music Festival, and the Sailor DIDO AND AENEAS at the Grange Festival. Upcoming engagements include Castor CASTOR & POLLUX with Warsaw Chamber Opera.   

 

On the recital platform he has performed with Elizabeth Kenny (lute/theorbo) and Zita Silva (Harp), performing with both at the Sherborne Music Festival.  Recent engagements  include Bach Weihnachtsoratorium (Evangelist and tenor solo) with Collegium Musicum, Bergen, Bach Matthäus-Passion (Evangelist) with Iain Ledingham, Bach Johannes-Passion (tenor solo) with Bristol Bach Choir, Bach Matthäus-Passion (tenor solo) with Copenhagen Soloists, Stainer Crucifixion with Edvard Grieg Kor, Bach Cantatas with Amsterdam Baroque under Ton Koopman, Monteverdi Vespro della Beata Vergine with Edvard Grieg Kor, Bach’s B Minor Mass at the Thuringer Bachwochen in the Erfurt Dom and Bach Johannes-Passion (Evangelist) with the ensemble Gli Angeli, in Geneva.     

Kieran White.jpg
John2.jpg
John Hormoz Holland-Avery

British-Iranian baritone John Hormoz Holland-Avery is a prize-winning postgraduate from the Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester, during which time he was supported by the Mercers’ Company and an Independent Opera Voice Scholarship.

His operatic credits include: Chorus in Bart’s Oliver!, Verdi’s Don Carlo (Grange Park Opera), the title role in Mozart’s Don Giovanni, Hidraot/Ubalde in Lully’s Armide, Periarco in Cavalli’s Xerse (UK premiere), Bellone/Ali in Rameau’s Les Indes Galantes, Guglielmo in Mozart’s Cosi Fan Tutte (Ensemble OrQuesta), and Don Alfonso from the same opera (Devon Opera), Traveller in Britten’s Curlew River (Opera Xylem), Step-Out Baritone (cover) in Noah Mosley’s Aurora (Bury Court Opera), Pluton in Rameau’s Hippoltye et Aricie (Ensemble OrQuesta), Alidoro (cover) in Rossini’s La Cenerentola (British Youth Opera), and Dr Falke in J. Strauss II’s Die Fledermaus (Windsor and Eton Opera), Dottore in Verdi’s La Traviata (Teddington), Giove in Cavalli’s La Calisto (Ensemble OrQuesta), and Harasta in Janacek’s The Cunning Little Vixen (Riverside Opera), Hipparco in Cavalli’s L’Egisto (Hampstead Garden Opera), and continuing as Melisso in Handel’s Alcina for Ensemble OrQuesta in France.

He performed in the Serena Fenwick Training Programme Summer Concert (BYO) soon due for YouTube broadcast, and as a founding member of Eboracum Baroque, recorded Handel’s Messiah last December for release later this year..

Alcina de George Frideric Handel
Ensemble OrQuesta

Présentée pour la première fois en juillet 2019 au John Mcintosh Arts Centre de Fulham, à Londres, la production de l'Ensemble OrQuesta du classique de Haendel Alcina sera jouée en septembre 2021 au Théâtre Basse Passière.


Avec un mélange dynamique de talents musicaux de l'Ensemble OrQuesta, le spectacle comprendra un clavecin, un luth, deux violons et un violoncelle, pour capturer pleinement la magie du classique très vénéré de Haendel.


Adapté de manière moderne, avec un thème soulignant le harcèlement sexuel sur le lieu de travail, il suit un style minimaliste, typique de la plupart des productions de l'Ensemble OrQuesta, et sera dirigé par le chef d'orchestre de renommée internationale Marcio da Silva. 

Représentations

17 et 18 septembre, 2021,

20 heures

20 €

Merci de réserver par e-mail (avec paiement sur place) en cas de difficultés avec la réservation en ligne

Photo 8.jpg
Ensemble OrQuesta

www.ensembleorquesta.com

Fondé en 2013 par Marcio da Silva, l'Ensemble OrQuesta réunit des artistes qui se consacrent à l'interprétation de la musique baroque dans toute sa richesse et sa diversité, selon les plus hauts standards.


Ces dernières années, l'Ensemble OrQuesta a présenté ses productions professionnelles au Festival Grimeborn, au Théâtre Arcola et au Théâtre Cockpit. Ces productions ont été très bien accueillies par la critique.


Depuis 2014, l'Ensemble OrQuesta organise un éventail dynamique d'académies d'opéra. Ces académies ont permis à des chanteurs du monde entier d'interpréter des rôles complets dans des productions entièrement mises en scène avec un accompagnement orchestral.


La qualité exceptionnelle de ces académies - telle qu'elles se reflètent dans les témoignages des participants - a valu à l'Ensemble OrQuesta une réputation exceptionnelle en tant que programme international pour jeunes artistes

Photo 7.jpg
Photo 6.jpg
Marcio da Silva conducting.jpg
Marcio da Silva

www.marciodasilva.com

 

Né en 1983 à Belo Horizonte, au Brésil, Marcio da Silva commence ses études musicales à l'âge de 9 ans par des cours de piano et de chant choral. Après une demi-vie d'études musicales internationales et l'obtention d'une licence et d'une maîtrise dans différentes disciplines musicales, il s'est produit dans de nombreux pays du monde et a remporté des prix pour ses performances dans le monde entier. Il est un chanteur baryton et contre-ténor accompli, et a organisé chaque année un certain nombre d'académies d'opéra, donnant à de nombreux chanteurs la possibilité d'étudier et d'interpréter une œuvre d'opéra à un niveau artistique élevé.

Helen May

www.helenmaysoprano.com

 

Helen a été diplômée du prestigieux cours préparatoire d'opéra de la Royal Academy of Music avec un MA avec distinction, après avoir reçu un DipRAM pour un récital final exceptionnel. Ses études ont été généreusement soutenues par le William Gibbs Trust et le Josephine Baker Trust. Helen avait auparavant étudié la musique à l'Université de Cardiff, où elle était titulaire de la bourse d'études vocales David Lloyd et avait reçu le prix Geraint Evans pour sa performance exceptionnelle en récital.

 

Parmi ses rôles à l'opéra, citons : Alcina (Alcina, Handel, Arcola Theatre) ; Climene, (L'Egisto, Cavalli, HGO) ; nomination OFFIE Calisto (La Calisto, Cavalli, Cockpit Theatre) ; Diane (Hippolyte et Aricie, Rameau, Grimeborn Opera Festival) ; Pamina (Die Zauberflöte, Mozart, Hastings Philharmonic) ; Nerone (L'incoronazione di Poppea, Monteverdi, Cockpit Theatre) ; Amastre (Xerse, Cavalli, Grimeborn Opera Festival) ; Despina (Cosi fan tutte, Mozart, Woodhouse Opera Festival) ; Galatea (Acis and Galatea, Handel, Ensemble OrQuesta) ; Giannetta (L'elisir d'amore, Donizetti, Woodhouse Opera) ; Valletto (L'incoronazione di Poppea, Monteverdi, HGO) ; Barbarina (Le Nozze di Figaro, Mozart, Ensemble OrQuesta) ; et First Lady (La Flûte Enchantée, Mozart, London Opera Players). Parmi les rôles à venir, citons la comtesse Almaviva (Le Nozze di Figaro, Mozart, Vinehall Theatre, Robertsbridge) ; la couverture Jenůfa (Jenůfa, Janáček, Court Theatre, Tring) ; et Mimi (La Bohème, Hastings Philharmonic Orchestra). Helen est également une soliste expérimentée dans les oratorios et les récitals.

Helen.jpg
Laura 3.jpg
Laura Fleur

La mezzo-soprano britannique Laura Fleur Hocking suit le cours d'opéra de la Guildhall School of Music and drama. Elle a déjà obtenu un diplôme de premier cycle avec mention et un Master of Performance avec distinction au Royal College of Music. Elle étudie avec Susan Waters. Laura est une jeune artiste du Leeds Lieder Festival 2019 et une jeune artiste de Garsington Alvarez 2020.  

 

Laura a récemment travaillé en concert, notamment en tant que membre de l'ensemble d'alto avec le Classical Opera and the Mozartist's concert tour of Così fan tutte, Elijah de Mendelssohn avec l'Orchestre Age of Enlightenment au Royal Festival Hall et au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Pulcinella de Stravinsky avec le Guildhall Chamber Orchestra, le Requiem de Mozart, la Petite Messe Solennelle de Rossini, le Gloria de Vivaldi, le Messie de Haendel et des cantates de Bach avec le London Haendel Orchestra et un projet de chansons de Mahler avec Roger Vignoles.

Son expérience de l'opéra comprend Pompea dans The Little Green Swallow de Jonathan Dove (Guildhall Opera), Mrs Kneebone dans A Dinner Engagement (RCM Opera Studio), le rôle titre dans Dido and Aeneas (Hurn Court Opera), Melanto dans Il Ritorno D'Ulisse (Suffolk Villages Festival), Nerone dans L'Incoronazione di Poppea (The New Renaissance Collective), Amastre dans Xerse de Cavalli, Dafne dans Euridice de Caccini (Ensemble Orquesta), Zweite Dame dans Die Zauberflöte (Broadstone Music Series) et des premières d'opéra contemporain comme Angelica dans The Fermi Paradox de Lara Poe, et Embryo 3 dans Our Perfect Child de Sophie Sparkes (RCM/Tête-à-tête). À l'été 2020, elle a été choisie pour reprendre la seconde nymphe dans la production de Rusalka de l'Opéra de Garsington.

Kathleen Nic Dhiarmada

Kathleen Nic Dhiarmada est une soprano irlandaise qui a étudié avec Kate Paterson, Raymond Connell et Ingrid Surgenor. 

 

Récemment diplômée avec distinction en études vocales de la Royal Academy of Music, Kathleen poursuit maintenant ses études à la Royal Academy Opera avec le généreux soutien du Carr-Gregory Trust. 

 

Kathleen a interprété des rôles principaux dans A Midsummer Night's Dream de Britten (Helena, Royal Academy Opera 2020), La bohème de Puccini (Musetta, Hampstead Garden Opera, 2019) et L'incoronazione di Poppea de Monteverdi (Poppea, Ensemble OrQuesta, 2019). Elle a également interprété le solo soprano dans le Requiem de Fauré (Dun Laoighre Choral Society), la Création de Haydn (Armagh City Choir) et le solo soprano 1 dans la Messe en do mineur de Mozart (English Baroque Choir). Kathleen a aussi récemment repris le rôle de Fiordiligi dans la production de Così fan tutte de la Royal Academy Opera.

Kathleen a hâte de jouer Lauretta dans la production de Gianni Schicci de Puccini par la Royal Academy Opera plus tard cette année.

54labw.jpg
Maya.jpg
Maya Colwell

Maya Colwell, mezzo-soprano belgo-britannique, a été louée pour ses performances à l’Opéra qui "ravissent par sa vivacité". Elle est titulaire d'une licence de première classe en musique de l'université de Bristol et étudie actuellement à la Royal Academy of Music avec Alexander Ashworth et Matthew Fletcher. Elle a la chance de bénéficier du mentorat et du soutien continus d'Angela Hickey depuis son passage à Bristol. 

 

En septembre 2019, Maya a créé le rôle-titre de Dorian Gray dans le nouvel opéra d'Oliver Bowes, qui a été acclamé, lors d'une production au Bedford historique de Balham. Au printemps dernier, elle a également fait ses débuts en tant que soliste avec le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra sous la baguette de Hilary Davan-Wetton au Cadogan Hall.

 

Maya s'est produite avec de nombreuses compagnies, tant au Royaume-Uni qu'à l'étranger, et a eu la chance de travailler et d'étudier avec Kamal Khan, Gidon Saks, Lorraine DiSimone et Pamela Armstrong, entre autres.

 

Parallèlement à son travail de chanteuse, Maya est également directrice créative de Love Opera, où elle coordonne et conçoit des productions innovantes de trésors lyriques. Maya est également polyglotte et utilise sa maîtrise du français, de l'italien, de l'anglais et de l'allemand pour développer son travail de traductrice et de librettiste. 

Kieran White

Le ténor britannique Kieran White continue de connaître un grand succès au Royaume-Uni et s'impose également comme un artiste recherché en Europe continentale. Ses engagements à l'opéra incluent Damon dans ACIS & GALATEA pour le Dorset Opera, Arnalta dans L'INCORONAZIONE DI POPPEA au Cockpit Theatre, le rôle-titre L'EGISTO pour le Hampstead Garden Opera, Hippolyte dans HIPPOLYTE ET ARICIE au Grimeborn Festival, Acis dans ACIS ET GALATEA pour l'Ensemble OrQuesta, Ruggiero dans LA LIBERAZIONE DI RUGGIERO de Caccini et Pastore dans LA DAFNE de Gagliano pour le Brighton Early Music Festival, et le Marin dans DIDO ET AENEAS au Grange Festival. Ses prochains engagements incluent Castor pour CASTOR & POLLUX avec l'Opéra de Chambre de Varsovie.   

 

En récital, il a joué avec Elizabeth Kenny (luth/théorbe) et Zita Silva (harpe), avec lesquelles il s'est produit au Sherborne Music Festival. Ses engagements récents comprennent le Weihnachtsoratorium de Bach (évangéliste et ténor solo) avec le Collegium Musicum de Bergen, la Passion selon St-Matthieu de Bach (évangéliste) avec Iain Ledingham, la Passion selon St-Jean de Bach (ténor solo) avec le Bristol Bach Choir, la Passion selon St-Matthieu de Bach (ténor solo) avec les Solistes de Copenhague, Stainer Crucifixion avec Edvard Grieg Kor, des Cantates de Bach avec Amsterdam Baroque sous la direction de Ton Koopman, Vespro della Beata Vergine de Monteverdi avec Edvard Grieg Kor, la Messe en si mineur de Bach aux Thuringer Bachwochen au Dom d'Erfurt et Bach Passion selon St-Jean (évangéliste) avec l'ensemble Gli Angeli, à Genève.    

Kieran White.jpg
John2.jpg
John Hormoz Holland-Avery

Le baryton irano-britannique John Hormoz Holland-Avery est un diplômé primé du Royal Northern College of Music de Manchester, à l’occasion duquel il a bénéficié du soutien de la Mercers' Company et d'une bourse d'études pour la voix d'un opéra indépendant.

 

Parmi les rôles qu'il a tenus à l'opéra, citons Chorus dans Oliver ! de Bart, Don Carlo de Verdi (Grange Park Opera), le rôle titre dans Don Giovanni de Mozart, Hidraot/Ubalde dans Armide de Lully, Periarco dans Xerse de Cavalli (première britannique), Bellone/Ali dans Les Indes Galantes de Rameau, Guglielmo dans Cosi Fan Tutte de Mozart (Ensemble OrQuesta), et Don Alfonso du même opéra (Devon Opera), Voyageur dans Curlew River de Britten (Opera Xylem), Step-Out Baritone (reprise) dans Aurora de Noah Mosley (Bury Court Opera), Pluton dans Hippolyte et Aricie de Rameau (Ensemble OrQuesta), Alidoro (reprise) dans La Cenerentola de Rossini (British Youth Opera), et Dr Falke dans J. Falke dans Die Fledermaus de J. Strauss II (Windsor and Eton Opera), Dottore dans La Traviata de Verdi (Teddington), Giove dans La Calisto de Cavalli (Ensemble OrQuesta), et Harasta dans The Cunning Little Vixen de Janacek (Riverside Opera), Hipparco dans L'Egisto de Cavalli (Hampstead Garden Opera), et continue en tant que Melisso dans Alcina de Handel pour l'Ensemble OrQuesta en France.

 

Il a participé au concert d'été du programme de formation Serena Fenwick (BYO) qui sera bientôt diffusé sur YouTube et, en tant que membre fondateur d'Eboracum Baroque, il a enregistré le Messie de Haendel en décembre dernier pour une sortie prévue plus tard cette année.